Hi folks. I'm an infrequent enough poster but regular lurker here.
I'm a brewer by trade but an artist in my spare time, and I've long been looking to produce some artwork for some metal stuff; albums, posters, t-shirts, anything.
I work mostly in pen and ink on paper, old school, and my Instagram linked here will have some examples of my work.
If you are a band or label looking for decoration and my work fits, I'd appreciate being considered.

https://www.instagram.com/killian.o.ficheallaigh?igsh=M2djMnNmdjVpcHZ2

I've just checked it Killian. It's quality artwork!!

I can definitely see it being used as cover art. Have you contacted bands and labels you could present your art to?

#2 February 04, 2024, 09:55:26 PM Last Edit: February 04, 2024, 11:28:04 PM by boozegeune
As stupid as it sounds, no, I don't contact bands or labels directly. I feel that it would be lost in the sea of spam and crap that even I get. I've also been telling myself the lie that if I just focus on building up a better body of work it would pay off.

I've had some really encouraging serious enquiries that never advanced through one thing or another, but I definitely need to push it more proactively.

Edit - and thank you for the kind words.

Some of those look great!

Followed you there last week, love that style of art too and your work is great.

I don't know if you use FB at all but it is worth setting up a page there then using the page itself to join loads of music genre groups - and Irish metal groups - that you want to make art for.  Most will let you put in a quick promo post if it isn't over the top or too often, and I often see people in these groups looking for art or artists to work with for releases.  It's a good start and a great way to build up a gallery of works to get more bands later.