Ok so forgive me in advance if this one goes on a bit, but I'd like people's advice on how to write and put together song ideas as best as possible?7

Generally what  I do is if I come up with a riff or a few chords or something I record it on the phone voice recorder before I forget it and then try to stitch a few similar ideas together.

I have been playing guitar since my teens in originals and covers bands yet despite this I am a very poor writer of songs.

It's not writers block so much as can't seem to get anything to come out properly. However, I have no problem in learning other people's songs quickly.

If I am at band practice (remember that? It used to be fun!) and one of the lads shows me a riff or an idea I'll have it picked up in no time - but, I struggle to come up with my own material.

I've recently started taking guitar lessons on Zoom again in the hope that this will give me a kick up the arse and/or get the old synapses firing, and I've been reading up on music theory. As well as guitar I play bass and know a few chords on a piano too so trying to broaden the horizons a bit.

Any advice would be welcome

If you find that all your riffs are sounding similar and following the same patterns, like generally mucking around in E- minor and F, start off by fucking around at the opposite end of the neck. Sometimes physically forcing your hands to move on uncomfortable ways,  deviating from the usual comfortable routine can either result in something unexpected emerging or even just jolt your brain into a more creative space.

Often I will be forcing something a bit odd and honing it for a while and then jump to a completely different thing that sounds great. The original idea is lost but I end up having a riff I like. It's as if I'm shaking my brain into the space it needs to be in for riffs to come out.

Might be worth a shot.

Red wine.